Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.

Our Town Hall - Elections

| |


Vote graphic

The Town of Prescott's next municipal election will be held on Monday, October 22, 2018. 

Nomination Papers will be available online and at Town Hall from Tuesday, May 1, 2018.

The deadline for candidates to submit their Nomination Papers is Friday, July 27, 2018 at 2 p.m.

For more detailed information on the matter of running as a candidate for municipal elections, we recommend that you consult the Ministry of Municipal Affair's 2016-2018 Candidates' Guide.

Telephone/Internet Voting Election Policies and Procedures

The Municipal Elections Act, 1996, states that the Clerk shall establish procedures and forms for the use of any voting and vote-counting method authorized by by-law, and any alternate voting method authorized by by-law, and provide a copy of the procedures and forms to each candidate when his or her nomination is files. To view the above noted procedures please click below.

Telephone/Internet Voting Election Policies and Procedures for the 2018 Municipal Election

Changes to the Municipal Elections Act

Municipal elections in all Ontario municipalities, including the Town of Prescott, are governed by the Municipal Elections Act, 1996, (the "MEA").  On June 9, 2016, the Municipal Elections Modernization Act, 2016, or Bill 181, received Royal Assent, making a number of changes to the MEA.

For more information on these changes, visit the Municipal Elections Act Review and the Municipal Elections Act, 1996.