Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.

Mayor, Council and Committees

| |

Letter from the MayorPhoto of Mayor Brett Todd

Welcome to the Town of Prescott! On behalf of our entire town council and staff, I extend greetings and a sincere thank you for visiting our new online home.

 As you will see on this website, Prescott is a town on the rise. Our superb location on the north shore of the majestic St. Lawrence River in Eastern Ontario just south of our nation's capital in Ottawa allows you to get away from the cost and stress of city living without giving up any of its comforts.

 Prescott offers the very best of small-town Canadian life, whether you are looking for a new home for your family or are searching for the ideal location for your business. Here are just a few highlights:

 ‚óŹ  A perfect location on Hwy. 401, with Hwy. 416 to Ottawa, ON and the Prescott-Ogdensburg, NY International Bridge to the United States just minutes away

‚óŹBusiness access to the heart of the busiest commercial corridor in Canada, with Ottawa 45 minutes to the north, Kingston 60 minutes to the west, Montreal 90 minutes to the east, and large urban U.S. centres such as Syracuse, N.Y. within 90 minutes to the south

‚óŹDeep-water international shipping at the Port of Johnstown, just minutes away

‚óŹFull municipal water and sewer services for residential and business development

‚óŹAffordable, municipally-owned industrial and commercial park land alongside Hwy. 401

‚óŹTremendous natural beauty and recreation along the St. Lawrence River, one of the world's great waterways

‚óŹThe RiverWalk District, encompassing our Historic Downtown and Waterfront, including such public amenities as the new-in-2015 RiverWalkPark, Prescott Marina, Fort Wellington National Historic Site, and more

‚óŹMore than 80 acres of parkland and recreational fields offering unparalleled public access to the St. Lawrence River

‚óŹDeep historical roots - Prescott was established in 1784 with Loyalist settlement and founded as a town in 1810, a heritage seen today in our many historical homes, the historic downtown merchant district, the Forwarders' Museum, and Fort Wellington National Historic Site, the War of 1812-era fortification that gives us our nickname, "The Fort Town"

 Right here in Prescott, you can truly have it all. Come see us in person and find out for yourself.

 All the best,

 Signature of Mayor Brett Todd

W. B. (Brett) Todd

Mayor, Town of Prescott 

Brett Todd Biography

  • Born and raised in Prescott
  • Married to Lori, who works in the field of financial services
  • Elected as a councillor in 2006
  • Elected as mayor in 2010 and re-elected in 2014
  • Past chair of the Eastern Ontario Mayors' Committee (2012-2014)
  • Current member of the Prescott Police Services Board and the Prescott BIA Board of Directors
  • Past chair of the Prescott Public Library Board (2003-2006) and helped oversee the facility's Rejuvenation Project
  • Past member of the Prescott Youth Centre Board of Directors and council appointee to the Prescott and District Chamber of Commerce
  • Attended South Grenville District High School and is a graduate of Trent University in Peterborough, ON
  • Long-time freelance writer and editor in electronic media
  • Facilitator/Instructor for Corporate Learning and Performance Improvement at St. Lawrence College 

Town Council

To be a Town Councillor, one must be a Canadian citizen, at least 18 years old and must be a local resident or taxpayer in Prescott. The members are elected by the community, each bringing with them their own experience and skill sets, but they all share a commitment to the town.

The Town of Prescott does not have wards so all members are elected 'at-large' for a four year term. The current Council took office December 1, 2018 and the next election will be in 2022

Town Council Members as of December 1, 2018

Councillor Leanne Burton Councillor Teresa Jansman Councillor Gauri Shankar 
Councillor Lee McConnell Councillor Mike Ostrander Councillor Ray Young